Following a feminist blog

Hello everybody out there =)

I decided to follow the blog called “Feministing” –>http://feministing.com/ .

It is an online community which was born to connect feminist online and offline and to encourage feminism in 2004.

Samhita Mukhopadhyay is the executive Editor of the site and a writer, who has written for different daily papers and magazines. Besides it she is one of the directors of Sakhi, an organization that fights violence against women. Vanessa Valenti is a blogger, activist, writer and online strategist and managing editor of the site. She founded together with Jessica Valenti (Founding Executive Editor) Feministing.com.  In this site not only Admin or Staff can post but everyone that respects few rules can post and share his/her own thoughts.

Respect is the dominant rule of the whole blog.

Comments about: blaming the victim; fat-shaming; racist, sexist, ageist, transphobic, sizeist, ableist, homophobic commentary, plain malice and personal attacks; dismissal, silencing; questioning the feminist validity of a topic or post and derailing are in no way tolerated.

“Feministing” also collaborates with some organization and institution for technical and strategic support and coverage of events. The mission of those organizations and institution must obviously be in line with the ones this online community follows.

I chose this blog because of the content of their “top stories”, which are very interesting, because they talks about problems which are predominant not only in the USA but also in every part of the world where the culture of patriarchy dominates and is been followed.

The first top story is about what does it means to be a woman. The blogger explains it is and have to be different to be a person who is able to have a child and must be not reduced to a person with an uterus. This discussion started because of the republicans´ political campaign, which is, according to the blogger, an “anti-choice” campaign.

In another “tops story” a blogger debates on a democrat’s law proposal to assure legal aid for the victims of violence, especially domestic violence and rape. Among the lines sympathy for the Democrats can be read, because the post I have read were always about and against exposed questions or themes from Republicans.

But obviously bloggers focalize their attention also about non political matters as the “birth control”-Problem: many people cannot more buy it, because of the elevated prize; it should be instead a fundamental human right for all.

This article really shocked me http://feministing.com/2012/03/23/belvedere-vodka-ad-jokes-about-date-rape/ so just take a look and enjoy, reflect, be active!

D.

3 pensieri su “Following a feminist blog

  1. First of all I want to say terrific blog! I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your mind before writing. I have had a difficult time clearing my mind in getting my ideas out there. I truly do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are lost simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or tips? Many thanks!

  2. Greetings from Carolina! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to check out your site on my iphone during lunch break. I love the info you present here and can’t wait to take a
    look when I get home. I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .
    . Anyhow, excellent blog!

Lascia un commento